skip navigation
Home About Events News Honors History Resources Awards



State Champs

History of WIAA Football

The WIAA began sponsoring a football playoff program in 1976. The playoff program involved four divisions and a total of 16 teams in 1976 and 1977.

It was expanded to five divisions and a total of 20 teams for 1978 and 1979. Division 5 (smallest schools) was given eight playoff participants, making a total of 24, in 1980.

Beginning in 1981, the playoff program was changed to six divisions with eight teams in each, a total of 48; so all conference champions could be incorporated into the system. That plan was expanded in 1987 to 96 teams with conference runners-up, as well as champions qualifying. In the first five years, participants were determined on a system, ranking schools on basis of fewest losses and other factors. In 1996, the field was expanded to 192 teams, including all teams with conference records above .500 and other schools chosen from those who were .500 in conference games. In 2002, a seventh division was added, expanding the playoff field to 224 teams.

When playoffs began in 1976, divisions of competition were based on average enrollment of conferences. But effective with the 1984 season, competition was based on enrollment of participants--largest schools in Division 1, next largest in Division 2, etc.

Championship games were played at many sites through the first six years of the playoffs. But in 1982, all championship games were played at Camp Randall Stadium in Madison in a two-day event. That format remains in existence.

Stratford has won the most championships with seven. Edgar and Lancaster are next in line with six. D.C. Everest, Menomonie, Monroe, Osseo-Fairchild and Waunakee have each won five. Arrowhead, Ashwaubenon, Brillion and Darlington have won four. Schools with three titles are Antigo, Colby, De Soto, Gilman, Hilbert, Homestead, Kenosha Tremper, Manitowoc Lincoln, Marshfield, St. Mary's Springs, Shell Lake, Spring Valley, Two Rivers, Westby, Wisconsin Lutheran and Wrightstown.

Edgar has appeared in the most championship games with 10. Arrowhead is next on the list having appeared in nine title games. Darlington, Lancaster, Menomonie and Monroe have appeared in eight title tilts. Hilbert, Kenosha Tremper, Osseo-Fairchild, Stratford and Waunakee have appeared in seven, while Ashwaubenon, D.C. Everest, De Soto and St. Mary's Springs have been in six. Colby, Kewaunee, Marshfield, Mosinee, Stanley-Boyd and Wisconsin Lutheran have played in five.

State championships have been won by 112 different programs.

Stratford (2003-08) is the only program to win six straight championships. Lancaster (2000-02), Manitowoc (1984-86), Monroe (1990-92) and Two Rivers (1980-82) are the only other schools to win three consecutive State championships.

De Soto and Milwaukee Bradley have qualified for the most number of playoffs with 27. Howards Grove and Stratford have qualified in 26, and Edgar, Mayville and Menomonie have participated in the playoffs 25 times. Florence, New Berlin Eisenhower and Waupaca have qualified 24 times.